Cloudy Days and Connected Nights

With tablet and iPhone in hand and head in the clouds

N’tbook Dependance: No strain at all.

with one comment

Workstation for the Week

Workstation for the Week

For the past week I have been totally dependent on my Acer Aspire One. Through a series of unfortunate events, my work laptop got left in California and is wending its slow way back to Maine via UPS. (Ever try to set up a remote pick-up of something in CA while in ME? Without labels? Not easy.)

During that week I have had to create a major Powerpoint presentation for work, with Excel charts and graphs, knock out two other PPTs, keep up with my blogs (4), Twitter and Facebook, and all my personal and work email (had to redirect and forward all work email from by Blackberry, which is still, thank God, connected to the Blackberry enterprise server and picks up my work email).

I have edited photos in Lightroom and Photoshop Elements, uploaded to both Flickr and Smugmug, downloaded a huge app and one album in iTunes (and synced to the iPhone). For a blog entry, I took 20 screen shots on the iPhone, and downloaded them to the computer via USB.

In creating the PPT for work, I had two portable drives and 2 flash drives connected to the One at the same time (used a hub), looking for backups of files that are on my work laptop.

I have printed wirelessly to my networked HP printer.

In other works, I did a pretty complete week’s business on my n’tbook.

And it was no strain at all. Everything worked. Everything got done.

So when you read the industry disclaimers that N’tbooks are fine for light internet related stuff, but not for serious business, you can pretty much laugh them off. Unless you do 3D graphics or video rendering for a living, a n’tbook is all you need. No strain. You can get the job done.

Clearly, given the price of n’tbooks these days, and the price of real serious laptops (like for real business and work), this is a fact that the industry would like to downplay…would like to keep secret…would like to bury under lots of fine sounding disclaimers. If a n’tbook can really replace a full sized laptop for most business work, then who is going to pay for all those business laptops?

Not me. In the next round of laptop appropriations at work, I am going to request a n’tbook (now that Dell makes one…our IT will only buy Dell???). I travel 170 days a year. Why would I carry anything else?

And, if my work laptop had been a n’tbook, it would not have gotten left in California due to that series of unfortunate events I mentioned earlier. And I would not be writing this. Go figure.

Written by singraham

February 14, 2009 at 6:44 am

Posted in computers, netbooks

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have a question about netbooks. my company leaves virus checkers, vpn, all sorts of useless software turned on. I think this would be one reason why a netbook couldn’t work in the corporate setting. Corporate laptops just have to handle a lot of extraneous overhead.

    wilmer

    March 25, 2009 at 2:46 am


Leave a Reply

