Cloudy Days and Connected Nights

With tablet and iPhone in hand and head in the clouds

WordPress 2 for iPhone/iPod Touch

with 7 comments

Okay. I tried to use the first version of WordPress for iPhone a few times, and though it was superior to the other blogging apps I tried, it was not all that usable.

Version 2 (a new app, not an automatic upgrade from the first version) is much improved. I still might not choose to create a complete blog entry on it: it still lacks essential features like links, easily styled text, the ability to embed images by URL, the ability to easily place images within the body of the text (or anywhere but at the end of the post), etc. etc. But for someone like me who does a lot of iPhone app reviews, or anyone caught without a computer and with the need to build a WordPress blog post, it works well enough.

For instance, when blogging a new iPhone app review I have always, in the past, had to email screen shots from my iPhone to my laptop, or send them via USB cable, and then upload then to WordPress to illustrate the review. With WordPress 2 I can simply start a draft on the iPhone, add the screen shots directly from the iPhone’s image library and save the whole thing to my blog as a draft.

I can then open the draft from WordPress.com and put the finishing touches on it: put the images where I want them, add links and format text. I save a significant amount of time!

I could even, in a pinch, compose a Pic of the Day post by saving an image from my smugmug site to my iPhone image library and composing the text on the phone. In a pinch.

You can also manage comments and pages from your iPhone with WordPress 2.

And, of course, just to make the point this post is being done completely on the iPhone using WordPress 2.

I even figured out how to move an image to the top of the post, or anywhere you want it: you just have to cut and paste the code after saving the draft to WordPress the first time! You can even edit the class statement in the HTML to align the image within the text. It is set to alignnone. Change that to aligncenter or alignleft or whatever you want and…just like magic!

And of course, if you know just a little HTML you can style text too as I did above.

Now if only the next version of WordPress for the iPhone makes it easier. That would be really useful!

To see what one composed on the iPhone and adjusted on WordPress.com looks like, take a look at the previous post on MobileRSS.

Written by singraham

October 30, 2009 at 6:02 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] WordPress 2 for iPhone/iPod Touch – Stephen Ingraham, Cloudy Days and Netbook Nights   […]

  2. I find it really hard to use iphones for posting, but they could work if you really needed to. I prefer my computer.

    Fred

    November 7, 2009 at 4:40 pm

  3. COOL! Now it is going to be easy for everyone to update their wordpress blog!
    Gonna love this apps especially for a busy persons.

    Syuxx

    November 12, 2009 at 2:51 am

  4. an iphone is deffinately not ideal for my posting. I am afraid my fingers are rather large and i tend to muck up the letters. I do admit however that this new version of the app is worthwhile. Thanks for the review

    GaryDe

    December 6, 2009 at 1:25 am

  5. hi, nice article, thanks fro sharing

    Reza

    February 7, 2010 at 3:45 pm

  6. Great addition to the iphone of wp users

    nigel

    March 11, 2010 at 6:25 am

  7. nice. thanks for sharing…

    Karel santral

    March 12, 2010 at 6:52 am


Leave a Reply

