Cloudy Days and Connected Nights

With tablet and iPhone in hand and head in the clouds

Deliveries for iPhone: simply great!

with one comment

Deliveries for the iPhone

I have watched this little App develop over the past few updates into something quite fine and supremely useful! Deliveries is, in my opinion, a perfect example of the real potential and attraction of the iPhone.

The premise is simple: track shipments and packages quickly and easily. Automate the process for over 30 major internet vendors and commonly used shippers, so that you can track either by order number or by tracking number. As the app has developed, the authors have added the ability to see expanded order detail (automatically retrived from the vendor or shipper’s web site), a map of where your shipment is in relation to where you are, and the actual info page on the internet from the vendor or shipper…all without leaving the app. Very fine indeed. And useful! I find that Deliveries has become my preferred way of tracking packages. I will turn on my iPhone to check a package, even when I am sitting at my computer. And if that is not a testiment to the potential and attraction of the iPhone, I don’t know what would be.

The process is as simple as the premise. You add a shipment to track by entering a nickname, picking a vendor or shipper from a long list of possibles, entering the order or tracking number (which you can copy and paste from the confirmation email on the iPhone), and your account credentials if appropriate. Once a shipment is added, opening the app will automatically update the status. There is even a big count down number of days remaining to cheer you when you check.

I have tested Deliveries so far with Amazon and UPS, and it works amazingly well. There may be services in the vendor/shipper list that do not work as well…but I am assuming that they all function…and if they all work as well as Amazon and UPS, I would not be surprised.

So…if you order over the internet, or, as I do, regularly ship UPS or FedX, get this app! You will love it for its functionality and elegance. You will come, as I quickly have,  to depend on it, and on your iPhone, for all your order and shipment tracking needs.

Written by singraham

November 30, 2009 at 4:08 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for this article, very interesting. I did a lot of research before I bought a system for my geocaching. It is such a enjoyable hobby. What receiver do you use? Click here if you’d like to check out my site. Thanks again for a very informative site!

    Ebonie Urteaga

    December 19, 2009 at 5:33 pm


Leave a Reply

