Cloudy Days and Connected Nights

With tablet and iPhone in hand and head in the clouds

Archos 101 in Action (and viewing angles again)

with 7 comments

IMG_8328Just a short to note to report on my first experiences with the Archos 101 in public, in my intended natural habitat…showing videos and pics to friends, family, and anyone else who will stand or sit still long enough. It works! I propped it up on a table and connected to an inexpensive external speaker system through Bluetooth and my in-laws got to see my daughter Kelia’s Concerto Festival submission video, and later I sat with my father-in-law and two nephews and showed recent photographs and videos from my travels. Like I said, it worked well. No one claimed they could not see the screen, and it was way easier, and more fun, than flipping through an album or hooking up to the TV. SmugFolio did an excellent job…I was able to show my work without an internet connection at all.

So, beyond the fun I am having playing with the thing, it looks like it may just fulfill its original intention! This is good.

IMG_8330IMG_8331

IMG_8332And, for those still hung up on viewing angles of the screen, here are some unretouched, natural-light photos. 1) About 30° below perpendicular, 2) About 20° above perpendicular, and 3) about 60° to the side.

I consider these the limits of usability. Only you can say if this level of performance meets your needs.

Winking smile

Written by singraham

December 26, 2010 at 2:40 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. have you consider if it is better if it is 7 inch. i feel that 7 inch is the better size for portability

    kyith

    December 26, 2010 at 6:34 pm

  2. I actually ordered the 70 first, but canceled it when I decided I needed a new laptop. Considering my intended use as a photo and video display the 101 seemed a better choice, but and when I found them in stock at Archos.com I could not resist. I have not regretted it. The higher resolution screen makes it totally worth it.

    singraham

    December 26, 2010 at 6:55 pm

  3. Thanks for the help. I read your initial review and it helped me get familiar with the new machine. I’m actually slightly regretting the 101, perhaps I should’ve gone for the 70, just for mobility’s sake.

    But I’m not complaining, it’s a good machine for a good price.

    Jhoosier

    December 26, 2010 at 11:01 pm

  4. ah i see. i am please to see at least there are folks satisfied with this device.

    kyith

    December 27, 2010 at 7:38 am

  5. […] *Screen angles: there is a lot of discussion of how bad the Archos screen is, with some people getting pretty heated about it, on the forums. The best viewing angle on my screen in landscape mode is about 15 degrees below perpendicular to the surface, which puts the tablet at just about the ideal angle (about 30° to the surface it is resting on) for typing or working with it propped up on its stand on a table. It is also the angle that tablet assumes when held naturally in my hands. Though I lose some contrast when I view from either side of screen I don’t see any significant change in brightness or contrast through an angle of about 60°, 30° on either side of straight on. If I tip the screen back so I am further below the ideal angle, I have an additional 20° before I lose significant contrast. If I tip the screen up toward me, I begin to lose brightness at the bottom edge of the screen almost immediately, but it is usable through about 10°. That amounts to a vertical viewing angle of about 30°. In Portrait mode, the angles are the same, though the ideal angle moves to straight on perpendicular to the screen. That means that I have more angle to the right than I do to the left, with the tablet held normally with the ports up, and lots of room for tipping the screen in the vertical dimension. I could, of course put the more generous angle on the other side by tipping the whole device over. For my use this is “adequate” viewing angle (see more recent post with pics of screen performance here). […]

  6. Love your two articles on the 101 – they seem very fair and to the point. Since I’m still waiting for mine I can’t say any more than that.
    I was hoping that I could get you to do the same eval of the unit as an ereader. This is one of the reasons I’m buying the 101 (not the only reason of course as there are far better readers available if that’s all I wanted) but I am interested in knowing if the unit is capable of this function. I’m an avid reader and hope to hear some positive feedback from you – but, of course, the truth is what I want.
    Thanks for the time you’ve already spent evaluating this unit – I’ve enjoyed your work. Have a great new year. 2011… time certainly flies – I must be having a lot of fun.

    Gord L

    January 2, 2011 at 4:31 am

  7. @Gord L.
    I own a 3rd generation Kindle and like it so much that I bought my wife one for Christmas. I read a lot when traveling. One the first apps I downloaded after getting Market installed on the Archos was Kindle. In many ways the reading experience on the Archos is superior to the actual Kindle: more fluid, more natural, due to the touch interface. I find myself fumbling with the hard buttons and the clunky cursor on the Kindle now…however, while reading on the Archos screen is easy inside, in decent light, I would not count on it outside or even under very strong overheads. Because of the screen quality and battery life my Kindle will remain my primary reader, but I will be reading on the Archos. I have many of my Kindle collections already on it. I did buy the NIV Bible for the Android, and I have to say that it is much easier to navigate on the Archos than on the NIV on the Kindle. The Archos will be what I carry to Church today, and may get more use for that specific reading. The software is just more intuitive and has more features. I hope this more or less answers your question.

    singraham

    January 2, 2011 at 5:54 am


Leave a Reply

