Cloudy Days and Connected Nights

With tablet and iPhone in hand and head in the clouds

DYI Archos A101 Sleeve: $5.50

with 3 comments

bag1

Since I got my A101, I have had my eye out for something to carry it in. I bought a 10 inch laptop sleeve. It is about the right length but the two inches and more of extra height kind of bothers me. It is not an attractive fit. I bought the “custom” case for the Veiwsonic G Tablet (which is actually, once you open the wrapping, just a CaseLogic 10 inch laptop sleeve). I have looked at CD cases, and every laptop sleeve I can find within 20 miles of home. I check on Amazon daily. Eventually someone out there will come out with a nice folio style case, similar to the ones for the Amazon Kindles…that is what I really want.

Still, this morning, while picking up a hanger kit for my wife’s new painting (Christmas gift) at WalMart, I happened to be walking through the luggage aisle and saw this little zippered bag hanging up. It caught my eye because it was, oddly, the right proportions for the A101. A quick check of the dimensions confirmed that it was actually a close fit. The material is a woven nylon, similar to what soft-side luggage is covered with. It was only $2.97 so I picked it up.  And then, as I continued to browse the aisles, I began to wonder what I could line it with for added protection. I found these Peel and Stick Foam sheets in the Crafts Section. They are designed for making puppets. $3.47 for 6 sheets. Self adhesive, about an eight of an inch of relatively firm foam in bright colors. Worth a try. So, without further ado, here is how to transform $5.50 in materials from WalMart into a somewhat functional, custom DIY Archos A101 sleeve.

bag5 bag4
Measure the inside of the bag to the top of the back side (away from zipper): 6 1/2 inch Cut foam to fit (your choice of color)
bag7 bag6
Since it is a tight fit getting the foam inside the bag, trim about 1/4 inch from the narrow end Peel off the protective back

No pic here. This actually kind of a wrestling match. You have to get the foam inside the bag, with the sticky side facing the bag material, get it lined up, and then press the bag material down on it. Be careful, it is easy to get wrinkles in the bag material. Do it like you put a screen protector on your tablet or phone: very carefully!

bag8
  The front side of the bag, because you have to deal with the zipper is only 5 3/4 inches. Again, cut, peel, and wrestle the foam in there and stick it down.
bag9 bag10
Line the little flap above the zipper if you want to get fancy (and maybe for a bit more protection). Put the A101 in the bag with the screen facing away from the zipper. Notice the fit.
bag11 bag12
The A101 fits in the DIY bag much better than it does in your standard 10 inch laptop sleeve. 🙂

And there you have it. DIY.

Written by singraham

December 29, 2010 at 1:29 pm

Posted in Archos gen8, case, sleeve, Tablet

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is brilliant. I did something close. Those foam sheets are sold at Hobby Lobby but in much bigger sheets.
    I simply wrapped one around my 101 and trimmed off the excess leaving a bit of overlap then superglued it closed. You end up with a tube. Seal the other end with some superglue and you have a sleeve. A bit of velcro seals the other end when your tablet is in it.
    My first attempt looks a bit crude, but a pair of wavy edge scissors from the wifes scrapbooking set makes it look kinda cool.
    Thanks for this idea; it seems more sturdy.

    Danneauxs

    December 31, 2010 at 8:21 am

  2. Danneauxs: if you will send me a photo, I will add it to the post.

    singraham

    December 31, 2010 at 8:44 am

  3. […] have looked around for possible carrying solutions for the Archos, and even made my own little sleeve, but I am totally spoiled by the Leather Case for the Kindle. The Kindle case is both elegant and […]


Leave a comment